A debate…

  • A discussion based on this video: http://front.moveon.org/two-lesbians-raised-a-baby-and-this-is-what-they-got/#.TtaiyuhikcK.facebook
  • Duane Walton:Ok, but why force me to accept this and make it a law. It’s not what a family is (as a man and a women) in gods eyes
  • Chris Araj:Duane, no one is forcing you to do anything. How does allowing everyone the same freedoms regardless of sexual orientation negatively affect your life in any way?
  • Duane Walton:No, Putting it to law is making me to accept it. People are trying to pass Gay marriage or civil unions- It’s forcing me to accept everybody’s sexual orientation if it’s passed. Where are my rights if I don’t accept it. Then I will be a gay bashing- then it will be called a hate crime. I can’t say anything about it or get ready for a law suit.
  • Chris Watts:So then Uncle Duane, you are asking people to discriminate solely based on religion? And your rights to state your opinion and beliefs are not limited. It only becomes a hate crime if you act on it. No one is forcing you to accept it, merely to treat them as humans, not second class citizens.
  • Ariana Melendez:On that note, it’s also a democracy that we live in, so if the public chooses to vote for gay marriage, then you will have to deal with it, accepting of it or not, because that’s how a democracy works. Additionally, should you act on your futuristic ‘gay-bashing’ nature now, then it’s already a hate crime. Discrimination is discrimination no matter which way you do it.
  • Duane Walton:Chris, my conviction and my religion is my life. I don’t conform to the world for what they show on TV or what your college professors teach you. I have a Bible what I believe in. What it says is clear. This world wants me to accept everything. I will not, and I will make a stand- just as gay’s do. I have a guide book that will lead me into a better place. Yes they are forcing me to accept there lifestyle by wanting to pass laws. I treat them as humans and not second class citizens. I just don’t accept the lifestyle. Discrimination is how a person see’s it.
  • Chris Watts:Does the world want you to accept it, yes. Is it forcing, no. Passing a law does not force you to accept it, it gives them the same rights as you. As Ariana said, it is a democracy and you have a right to stand for what you believe in. Putting it into law is giving them rights, not taking any of yours. That is why I’m not understanding why you say it is forcing you to accept it. On the other hand, as it stands now or as Amendment One they are attempting to pass in NC removes rights, forces them to accept your way of thinking. Making a law such as that removes what a heterosexual couple need not even consider and limits their ability in society. It also creates dominance of heterosexual people, leading to homophobia (because believe it or not, homophobia, racism, all such things are creations of capitalism). I’m not saying every person who doesn’t accept it is homophobic; I completely understand that you have your right to oppose it based on religious beliefs. However to allow homosexual marriage on the other hand takes nothing from you. You are still allowed to state your views and get married and function as a married man. You are still allowed to hold your religious beliefs and say them. That is something people need to understand. But this isn’t about conforming, it is about humanity and treating people as people, regardless of their beliefs or sexual orientation. The whole thing where “All men are created equal” that we take so much pride in, but yet we continue to act against that…
  • Sarah F Holdren:Chris, I was in a lesbian “wedding” about a year ago.There is nothing wrong with same sex marriage AT ALL! I wasn’t raised to agree with it..but i learned that people have their own views an sexual preference! ijs why can’t they be happy like any other family/couple out there?

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Our World, Uncategorized, Whoe we are. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

