NCSU…The Memories

In honor of my time at NC State University (August 2008-May 2013) I want to recognize some important memories. I want to thank all of those who saw enough in me during our first meeting to give me a second chance. This post is in honor of people like Michael Coombes, Kathleen Curp, Gabe Wical, Mike Giancola, Kristen Marley, Jason Lynch, Adam Culley, Melissa Green, Keith Wickliff, Cameron Hill, Tom Stafford, Mia Hawlk, Woody Joseph, Kelsey Lichtenwalner, Chelsea McPherson, Nicole Ralston, Leslie Beddingfield, Lori Wilson, Ingrid Tucker, Susan Grant, Mindy Sopher, Roger Callanan, Dave Jones, Brian Peters, Lisa Labarbera, Nick Highe, Tim Gubitz, Mary Brannan Gubitz, Sean Jones, Amber McCraw, Manisha Patel, Jordan Carrera, Drew Owens, Aaron Hood, Aaron Sugar, Jordan Lohn, Wesley Lo, Kurt Saenger-Heyl, Lindsay Ann Skully, Kylee Philips, Kyle Winters, Kris Gower, John Kvarta, Aileen Rodriguez, Darian Perry, Gail Owens, Britt Taylor, Bryce Davis, Emily Adams, Jaimika Patel, Lisa Vu, Carnell Griffin, Jennifer Hamilton, Tony Dao, Jewel Williams, Summer Higdon, Grey Mangum, (list is not complete)

Parking LotThis shot is the first place I parked when I came for my own orientation session back in July of 2008. I actually parked my Ford Thunderbird right next to the light pole you see over there on the left. I remember getting up early to drive from my tiny hometown near the coast to get here and get excited. I loved being here…though I already knew most of the campus since I was so obsessed that I spent hours staring at maps of campus.

That experience led me to the first job I applied for on campus. I had my interview in this building:Rick'sThat was where I met some folks who would be incredibly influential in my college career. I would interview here in the room I now take Latin in to spend the 2009 summer as an orientation counselor. I would get the job and spend the next three summers working with these people, including their move to this place:

Image

They would spend several years in this building, where I would also meet the members of OASIS, one of which would later become a teacher of mine and a woman I am honored to know. She and an assistant director of New Student Orientation would connect me with a brotherhood that I am thrilled to be a part of. Their offices were in this building:

Image

While my first home at NC State would be Sullivan Hall:

Image

Where I would enjoy living the easy life on the second floor and finally return to during my final summer with Orientation, this building would be my orientation home for my first, 2nd, and 3rd summers (if you count my own orientation): Lee Hall

Image

A lot of meals would be spent at Fountain, though progressively less as I learned to fend for myself:

Image

After that first summer, I would join the housing world where I would devote a sum total of 10 years of service to (4 on staff, 2.5 IRC, 3.5 NRHH) and my first job was here, where I learned that I could do this for a career:

Image

And of course a lot of time in this place:

ImageAnd working in these spaces:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

I would be touched by the people who worked in this office:

Image

 

And be honored to work with those who called this home:

Image

 

While I began my time as an engineering student, I would come to call this the embodiment of my academic life:

Image

 

As well as this:

Image

 

All of which naturally reside on this (The Court of NORTH Carolina):

Image

 

Crowned at one end by this beauty, representing the class of 1911 who ended Freshman Hazing:

Image

 

And the other end holds this garden:

Image

 

And the home of the Chancellor’s Office, originally known as Main Hall, Holladay. It is elegant in its simplicity, built and designed to represent that our university was founded in opposition to elitist behavior, for the people of North Carolina:

Image

With the NCSU Memorial Belltower close by, memorializing those NC State Alumni lost in the Great War (World War 1):

Image

 

There was one building I seemed to be unable to escape, having a class in there every semester for my first three years:

Image

 

Now the home of several student service offices as well as the bookstore. It stands across University Plaza, better known as the Brickyard from this Gem of NC State:

Image

 

Though to be fair, it is the second DH Hill Library on NC State’s Campus, with Brooks Hall being the original Daniel Harvey Hill Library.

I have heard a lot of people say that NC State is ugly, and while it does have its down sides, I would like to let you know that it also has its beauty if you are willing to look for it:

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

(Though to be fair, you can’t play on these)

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

This brings me to my final home while a student at NC State, Wolf Village:

Image

 

Thank you for taking the time to share this walk down memory lane with me. I know and am honored to be a part of the Wolfpack, forever

Image

 

 

 

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

