Senior Night

After 5 long years at NC State and 2.5 as a brother of Delta Upsilon, I would like to thank a few people and share a few words of wisdom:

 

  I would first like to thank Britt Taylor, without whom I would not currently be an active undergraduate brother of DU at NCSU.

  Second, I would like to recognize Mindy Sopher who sat and spoke with me when I first looked to join DU. She talked to me about past and current brothers and showed me not only what DU did, but what being a brother actually meant.

  Third, I would like to thank a mentor and friend, someone I am honored to call a brother. He was one of the folks I worked with in my first position at NC State. He has known me since my first job interview at NC State. Michael Coombes, Dikaia brother.

 

  No, my time with the brothers of Delta Upsilon has had its ups and downs. I joined in the fall of 2010 and the next semester we went into re-org. I had been elected VP of recruitment and planned a recruitment calendar that would recruit the largest classes in a few semesters. However I would not get to see this happen. I missed the Winter Educational Conference that year, so I was then unable to serve as the VP of Recruitment. I felt it was my fault when placed on re-org status, seeing as not having a VP of Recruitment was one of the hairs that broke the camels back. Between that and all the other stress, I elected to go on alumni status, fearful of feelings in the organization toward me.

  About a year later, Britt met to have dinner with me and asked if I might potentially be interested in returning as an undergrad brother. I was thrilled when I heard that, thrilled and weary. The only brothers left from when I had first joined were Scott Warren (who was abroad at the time) and Britt. After meeting the new guys, I made the best decision of my life: to once again become an active brother. My time was so wonderful that I even went and had 1834 tattooed on my chest in the old gold and sapphire blue of DU with the motto written around it. 

  I met brothers. And I don’t mean as in guys who had taken the same oath and wear the same badge as me. That is what makes us DU and makes us different. I meant brothers as in the guys that I had shared time with. Stories were our language and love for one another is what makes us brothers. Brothers in the sense that if any one of them ever needs a hand, I hope they are unafraid to call me. If they need to talk or someone to listen, I’m here.

  It is because of this bond as brothers I offered them this advice, and I now share it with you:

1) Do what you say you will do. The world aches for us to do all we can. But we are only as good as our word, as the old adage goes. And that only does us any good if we are in fact as good as our word. When you volunteer or connect your name with someone, be sure that you follow up. If you are ever embarrassed to do or say something, perhaps it is time to reconnect with your organizations values and ideals. 

2) Leadership is hard. It is not always glamorous. While you do not always have to offend people, you CANNOT be afraid to do so.

3) Communicate! There are so many chances and opportunities out there, so many brothers to recruit, if only you are willing and able to take the time to work with one another to ensure everyone is on the same page. Do not assume a problem will disappear.

Finally, admit your mistakes. Life is difficult and the world will hit you hard, but we are here for one another. Dikaia and I love you brothers.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

