Beautiful…

What if I told you God is gay?

Do you think belligerent bible-belters

Would still holler hate speech to the hilltops

In His name?

Or do you think they would reread the scriptures

They say they swear and survive by

See, I’ve been reading the Bible again lately

And I think I’ve taken a leaf from their holy book,

Picking passages for my purpose

Which is in short

To let you know it’s very possible God is gay.

I mean think about the book of Genesis

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth

And it wasn’t just good, it was fabulous.

I mean what else is our planet but the pinnacle

Of exterior design, and I don’t mean to generalize

But it certainly seems like that the Garden of Eden

Was designed by queer, I mean divine eye for the straight guy

But some Christians would go as far as to call

God’s creations abominations

Heretics calling themselves faithful

When their faith is full of belief that only God may pass judgment

Matthew 7:1 Judge and you too shall be judged

Luke 6: 37 Condemn not and you shall not be condemned

Fred Phelps 2006: You’re going to hell! God hates fags!

A history lesson: A faggot is a bundle of sticks

Originally used as kindling for fires that engulfed gays

When they were burned at the stake, people were firewood

But Moses came across wood on fire and saw God in it,

What is a burning bush but bundles of branches

On fire, isn’t it funny how faggots and God can look the same sometimes?

Keep in mind Jesus had two dads and turned out just fine

In fact, Jesus had two dads and a surrogate mother

That never had sex with either of them,

Maybe Mary was a lesbian

And I remember the prayer going

“Hail Mary, full of grace”

Not full of sin,

“Pray for us sinners”

For we have become blinded by bigotry.

And forgotten that God gave us the rainbow

As a promise that we will never be flooded again

Either with rain or ignorance

And now all the homosexual Homo sapiens

Stand more united under God’s rainbow

Than all of his denominations do around the cross.

I was brought up believing that my Savior loved us all

And never had to specify “no homo”

But if you have hate in your heart

Say it don’t pray it

Don’t teach it and for the love of God don’t preach it

Because I am tired of these fire and brimstone sermons

Slinging slurs when they’re not firing brimstones

From voices that should be filled with love and praise

Instead of raised with hate and rage

I am a Christian, and I believe in saying the Christian thing.

Which used to sound like “Love thy neighbor as thyself”

But now sounds more like hate at the top of your picket signs

The closest thing to God being “Hell, is waiting for you”

They’re passing out damnation pamphlets

Filled with out-of-context Bible verses

Trying to define God

When his meaning is clear.

He is acceptance, He is pride, He is humility, He is just,

God is perfection, God is protection, God is love,

But most importantly

God is gay

These are the words of Elliot Darrow’s slam poem, “God is Gay” and I have to say it is one of the most beautifully written pieces I have heard. It states the issues I have had with the Christian side of the Gay debate for many years and I applaud Mr Darrow for having the courage and wisdom to stand by his faith and what I was taught growing up were the most important components (love and compassion). I’ve spent a lot of time talking about recruitment and the image often times portrayed by the church and I have to say that it is refreshing to see the words of men such as Mr Darrow and even the new Pope Francis come to light. They seem to have a much more christian message than men like Charles Worley (not the brightest, is he?), Mr Phelps of the Westboro Baptist Church from the poem, or these folks as well. I’m not Christian and I cannot say one way or another who has it right, but I do know my own opinion and my interpretation of the Bible and what I was taught. This Poem is Fabulous!
Read more: http://swampland.time.com/2013/10/10/the-college-student-behind-viral-god-is-gay-poem/#ixzz2hQqckQTi
About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Our World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

