My Joys of Life

How many of you truly enjoy what it is that you do? Like truly love it? It is a great feeling, and one that is important to your well being. If you have spent any time studying Reality Therapy for counseling, one of the essential aspects for a healthy life is taking the time to be happy. Life philosophies such as the popular “The Secret” focus on the importance of positive thought in our lives. We as a western society place such an emphasis on happiness. But how many of you actually take the time to find it? How many of you experiment with different methods ranging from meditation to prayer to sports or other hobbies to find your happiness? How many of you can actually say that you enjoy your work?

As of late, I have joined the ranks that can in fact call work a pleasure. From the work I do in class for my graduate program to the work I do for my assistantship, I am truly in fact quite happy where I am at. I spent some time recently in the hospital and was getting stressed over the fact that I was falling behind. Then something that I am still considering magical happened. I had to make up all the work I missed. Sure that sounds crazy, but trust me when I say it isn’t. It began with an exam that became a 6 page paper. When I was done, I was so excited for the field of work I had chosen for a profession. Then came work and I knew the headache would catch up to me there, but yet again it did not. I attended a “Meet the Greeks” event for our NPHC and found myself exhilarated. I found myself investing so much effort and energy into the campaigns like “No Matter the Letter, We’re All Greek Together” and “You Are Always Wearing Your Letters” and Greek Leadership, wanting to change the face of Fraternity and Sorority Life so that everyone could see the positive aspects of it I was so obsessed with that my blog became alive again.

And it did not end there. I had the chance to complete a literature review for a class where I looked at social justice education, focusing on Dr. Rupert Nacoste’s definition of diversity:

“Diversity will exist when the mix of people from a wide variety of niches of society is such that the occurrence of a conflict of ideas is unavoidable”

and John Rawls’ definition of social justice from his 1971 book, A Theory of Justice,where social justice is reliant on equality and equity for all (equality would be ensuring that everyone has a pair of shoes, equity would be ensuring that everyone has a pair of shoes that fits). All of this added up to the work of Ximena Zuniga (2003) and other scholars such as Ratnesh Nagda and Patricia Gurin who suggested that the best way to effect social justice change was through intergroup dialogues. These were sustained conversations that occurred between groups from diverse backgrounds where one or both groups had a negative social history with the other. I found myself thrilled and energetic about the topic and the work even with a very limited amount of sleep.

Ultimately, I have found what excited me and thrills me and I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I do in fact love what I do. I know now that I made the correct decision about what to do with my life. As I become more involved in the rich history of higher education in the U.S. going back to the founding of Harvard in 1636 to the founding of Student organizations with the establishment of Phi Beta Kappa in 1776 to the founding of the Fraternity system with the Kappa Alpha Society in 1825 all the way through the formal establishment of the Student Affairs Profession with the Student Personnel Point of View in 1937, I found my passion being sparked everywhere. As such, I would like to clarify for everyone that I am in fact a higher education nerd and would not have it any other way.

What I am encouraging is to do something for you to ensure that you are content. Find happiness everywhere you can and always keep your eyes open for it.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Grad School Love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Joys of Life

  1. Pingback: Where I Stand Today (Graduate Edition, Part I) | Rigsurfer's Blog

  2. Pingback: Challenges: Listen to the Musn’ts | Rigsurfer's Blog

Leave a Reply

