Tattoo Philosophy

*The following post is about some of my personal life philosophies supported through tattoos I have elected to get*

The first tattoo I ever got has a series of Chinese figures on it. Those are, from top to bottom, Strength, Courage, Harmony, Peace, and Wisdom. I elected to have this piece done because of what those words represent for me: The COURAGE to live with STRENGTH of character, HARMONY of the soul, PEACE of mind and body, and WISDOM of the spirit. This ideology really became my center as I looked into and became invested in meditation, from what you may traditionally think of where a person sits cross-leged (with the feet on top in Lotus position) to forms of mind-body meditation like Tai Chi and Yoga. I looked at the world around me and felt that we base our lives far more often on peer pressure than on our own convictions and that is not who I am. I have to live my life, not the life someone else wants me to live. You can see a photo of this tattoo below.ImageMy second tattoo was a tribal angels wings that I have on my right shoulder. This tattoo represents a second major philosophy in my life and the reason that public service and philanthropy are so important to me. The way I word it is that, “I am my brother’s and sister’s keeper.” No, I do not have a brother, but I am a member of the human family. Therefore, I have a responsibility to help my fellow man in any way I can. This does not mean that I cannot take care of myself, but it means I cannot overlook the plight of nor rationalize away the sufferings of another man. I have seen and heard too many stories of individuals who are in difficult situations on no fault of their own, yet people attempt to talk about how they need to help themselves…it breaks my heart that we as humans are so selfish. You can see that tattoo below. For me, angels have always represented safety and protection and support, therefore I represent this idea with angel’s wings.

ImageThe third tattoo that I have represents an ideology that was not exactly originated by me, but one I whole heartedly agree with and not only support, but try to live myself. The tattoo (not pictures) are the numbers 1834 in blue and gold with the word dikaia above it and upotheke below it, both written in greek letters. These are the year my fraternity was founded, our colors, and our motto. These represent a long and storied tradition that I am honored to be a part of, a founding in anti-secrecy that is today non-secret, and a motto of, “Justice, Our Foundation.” I am honored to be a brothers with our four principles: Development of Character, Promotion of Friendship, Diffusion of Liberal Culture, and Advancement of Justice. These principles build on one another: as your character develops, you become a person capable of advancing justice. As you promote friendships, you gain the connections necessary to be successful in that work just as diffusing liberal culture gives you the knowledge needed.

These are just what I have chosen to stand on and what is important to me. If it helps you in reading my blog, great.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tattoo Philosophy

  1. Pingback: Words to inspire in Student Affairs. | Rigsurfer's Blog

Leave a Reply

