Wagon Wheel and NC

“Headed down south to the land of the pines
I’m thumbin’ my way into North Caroline”

-Old Crow Medicine Show

As I am preparing for my first trip home to NC since moving to Texas (after 3.5 months) and my first trip to Raleigh since graduation in May, this song has really been on my mind. I’ve been thinking about the lyrics and the connection this piece has to NC. Sorry, it does talk about coming home to the land of the pine [NC’s state tree is the southern pine] coming to North Caroline, not to mention the close of two verses:

“And if I die in Raleigh
At least I will die free”

It really got me thinking about what I miss from NC and Raleigh. As I have told several people, I miss trees and water (OBX, You’re on my mind!) but I also miss the beautiful hills and mountains, the sandy beaches, and the great dismal swamp (though I could still do without the smell or the mosquito after a good rain). Speaking of Rain, I miss that as well, just frolicking in a good fashioned East Coast Thunder Storm, watching the water cascade down from the sky. I miss watching leaves turn to such glorious colors and fall from the trees where we got to pile them up just to jump into. I miss my school and to be honest, all the other gorgeous schools in NC (with the exception of a certain light blue school down the road ;-P ). I miss riding the mile or two downtown to stroll around the capitol, walking down Fayetteville Street, visiting the Museums (including Marbles Kids Museum, The Art Museum, and the Museum of Natural History). I miss the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as the beach. I miss the scenic old towns…

But most of all, I miss the people. I miss my fraternity brothers, my school and student org friends, I miss my mentors and family. I miss people I grew up with and beyond. All things considered, I’m missing a lot. So, in honor of NC, enjoy this (pick the one you prefer)

 

 

 

Esse Quam Videri – To be rather than to seem

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Our World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

