Note the Changes

I am sitting here waiting for the online registration system to have less traffic/recover from crashing so that I can register for my second semester of classes and am rather annoyed, just like other members of my cohort.

This made me think of something that I would like to offer to all potential graduate students in higher education. That is an issue that arises with changing schools. I have found myself to be guilty of this numerous times, but also found folks at my new school falling victim. It is exactly why I think attending or experiencing a new school is important.

***Schools do things differently***

At times this is a great thing and other times, frustrating. There are two cases of an issue with this to be aware of and knowing that it is a balance of these two. First is the case where you rely too much on your previous institution. It can be a great things to take experiences from there and offer suggestions. But don’t assume that is the only way to do it.  The second item is if you are remaining at your undergrad, assuming that is the only way to do things. People can get very big heads (I am a huge fan of my undergrad, and they do things that work for them most of the time, but my graduate institution does things differently and they are usually). For example, I was having a conversation with some students the other day and they kept referring to the Central time zone as the Texas time zone, or in talking about pursuing status as a Tier I Research Institution, I kept focusing on my undergrad which happened to be exactly that. I’m sure the people that heard me rant over it found it very annoying, and it was also very annoying when the professor only defined positions in terms of the institution we were at. Recognize and understand that things are different depending on where you go. For example, at my current school, a president is in charge of a university and the chancellor is responsible for the entire system. In opposition was my undergrad where the reverse was true. My professor elected to inform us that a chancellor was always a head of a system.

Take your learning very seriously, take in any and everything that you can, and always, ALWAYS keep an pen mind.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Grad School Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

