Gradsgiving

In honor of the upcoming holiday, and my peaceful, quiet time in the office with no students, I would like to take a moment and reflect on somethings that I am personally very thankful for as a Graduate Student in Higher Ed:

I am thankful for the range of experiences I had as an undergraduate. I was able to work with numerous groups and departments including Housing, Orientation, the Center for Leadership, Ethics, and Public Service (CSLEPS), Office of Advising, Support, and Information Services (OASIS), Student Media, Fraternity and Sorority Life, and so much more.

I am thankful for the diverse experiences that I was given in my undergraduate career. I was challenged with different forms of diversity and social justice in everything from my fraternity to my classes. I took a course of Sexual Assault and Domestic Violence and one on cross-cultural competence in the workforce.  I had the opportunity to work as a chair of Diversity Education Week and a member of the NCBI team. I’m still thankful for this today as I’ve attended Social Justice Facilitator training and begun the work on my thesis.

I am thankful for an office of people that are always willing to chat and talk. I am thankful for a place to stay, food to eat, and heat to keep me warm.

I am thankful for the work I do. As a grad assistant, I get to be involved with students and projects that are awesome and exciting. They thrill me and I enjoy them. Ranging from recruitment and expansion to constitution development and budgeting, I get to do a bit of everything. When it comes to classes, I legitimately love the school work. At times it is a headache, but I genuinely enjoy and am excited about what I am reading and researching. I love talking about it and discussing it with people. I am thankful for the books and internet that let me maintain that excitement.

Finally, I am thankful for the people. From those mentors in undergrad who still support me today to the friends who walked along the way with me. I appreciate the new friends I have made at work and the relationships through my cohort. Family, both blood and chosen, are a blessing that I cannot say enough about.

THANK YOU!

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Grad School Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

