Welcome to the Wide World of Higher Ed

This post goes out to all those who feel that the professionals you deal with (professors, advisors, coordinators, directors, etc) are out to get you.

A few of the fun and exciting things going on in my office currently are the planning of two different holiday parties, a goodbye party for a departing student assistant, the coordination of a pick ’em bowl tournament (where you pick bowl winners and whoever gets the most right gets their name on a football), discussion of hanging a Christmas tree pinata, the traveling elf on the shelf, and a possibility of a paper airplane tournament…

We are just bored big kids!!!

I’m sitting here at a desk with paperwork, research being done for future projects, and I’m worried about being pranked while reading Garfield.

Don’t get me wrong, we do work, but we also have fun. We are just trying to entertain ourselves and love to entertain you along the way. I work hard and get frustrated quite often (read some of my post in my Fraternity and Sorority Life tag if you don’t believe me), but I love hanging out with my staff, just sitting and talking and joking. It is important to remember not to always be serious (those are the administrators that people dread seeing) but be like one of the guys here in my office. We played a massive prank on him, covered his office in balloons filled with confetti, taped confetti all over, and laid out solo cups. When he saw it, he said we couldn’t clean it up yet because he “wanted to play with it.”

I’ve had the chance to learn and encounter quite a few things so far in my graduate career, but the most essential thing is one I saw in my own undergrad but am really learning to embrace now: Have fun. Make work exciting. Laugh.

It is a quote from Jimmy V (NC State head basketball coach, won 1983 NCAA Tournament) that I think summarizes this idea best:

If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day

-Jimmy Valvano

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Grad School Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

