Where did it all begin

I have an age old practice that I’ve been doing for several years now and that practice is keeping a journal. I don’t write every day and I don’t write about everything that happens to me. I call my journal my conSOLIDation of knowLEDGE. I write interesting thoughts, cool stuff I learn, and much more. This book contains my history and my past. I write down videos I love from music videos to TED Talks to documentaries. It is a collection and I treasure it.

One very important practice I hold here is to write about the why. Every time I look into taking a position, joining an organization, or holding an office, I write about why this matters to me and why it is important. After I get in, I write about this again. This gives me something to look back at and ground myself in. It has helped to give me direction in the past and it will aid my reflection in the future.

Every major decision in my life is reflected in this book in one way or another. It includes why I joined my fraternity, worked for NCSU New Student Orientation, served as the president of NRHH at NCSU, and elected my current school and position. This is important because it keeps me grounded. When I get down or depressed, I look back at this. I look at the idealist in me and it helps to revive my passion and energy.

It doesn’t always help or fire me back up, but it keeps me rooted on things that I value and place a great deal of importance on. It gives me direction and helps keep me focused. It has cost me friendships and gained me new ones. But no matter what, these words have been my solid ledge to stand on, often times with others.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life, Grad School Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

