Books that Have Touched Me

So I recently made a post on facebook about books that have stuck with me:

Rules: In your status line, list 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take more than a few minutes and don’t think too hard – they don’t have to be the “right” or “great” works, just the ones that have touched you.

So here we go:

1) The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
2) Making Gumbo in the University by Rupert Nacoste
3) Motivating the Middle by TJ Sullivan
4) Dracula by Bram Stoker
5) Harry Potter by JK Rowling
6) Anything at all by Dr Seuss
7) Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis
8) Black Greek 101 by Walter Kimborough
9) Garden of Eden by Ernest Hemmingway
10) The Leadership Challenge by Kouzes and Posner

These books have had in one way or another a lasting impact upon me. I would like to address why:

1) The Giving Tree was a book my dad kept in his office. It is a short, simple book which seems sad along the way but ends in a very happy place. I loved to sit and read this books. I have listed it as #1 because I recently bought a copy and it now sits at my desk (One day I’ll get an office) reminding me of it’s powerful words and story.

2) Making gumbo in the university was a book I found after taking Dr Nacoste’s Social Psychology class. For all my NCSU Friends out there, even if you never have a chance to take his class, I strongly suggest reading the book and meeting the man. This book and this man have led me to a lot of opportunities I’ve been involved with and have inspired a passion in me that is informing my focus for my thesis.

3) Motivating the Middle is a book I was recently connected to while taking Mindy Sopher’s COM466 class. While the experience as a whole was truly wonderful, I have placed this book on this list because of this blog and what I do today. Working with Greek students, especially small chapters and NPHC chapters at a large southern Predominantly White Institution (PWI) I know the battle of keeping members motivated.

4) Dracula…this book made the list because Dracula is my favorite of all the monsters out there. On top of that, the book is full of so many hidden messages that you could read it 100 times and never get the same tale. I also connect to this because I am a pale white person with fangs myself.

5) Harry Potter is on this list because it was and is my first real love as far as novels go. I was in third grade when I read the first three and it is the only story, movie, tv show, or anything that I have waited and anticipated the release of. I was 6 months younger than Daniel Radcliff so I aged right along with the cast of the movies. And the stories, true classics of our generation (sorry Twilight fans, but no) have so much wonderful life in them.

6) Anything at all by Dr Seuss is naturally on my list because of the gift and passion that this man had. He truly cared for and adored kids, but he also wrote one heck of a poem. Add in his illustrations, the fact that he changed the face of children’s literature, and his political nature and I know I have a role model.

7) Chronicles of Narnia made my list because reading these was the first time I really discovered reading deeper. It really opened my eyes to the magic that literature could really have.

8) Black Greek 101 this book is an incredibly recent addition to my list. It is the tale and history of Black Greek organizations but is also an excellent story of the history of hazing and much more. This book should be on the reading list for anyone working in a place where hazing can happen (which is anywhere, for the record).

9) Garden of Eden by Ernest Hemmingway…an interesting book to say the least. From a man who we always associate with romanticizing war and expatriotism and big game hunting, a real “man’s man”, this book is in a different class. He address non traditional sexual relationships and gender roles. This book made me appreciate Hemingway.

10) The Leadership Challenge launched my interest in leadership development and programming. It has led me to learn and be involved in much more ranging from LeaderShape, UIFI, and I-LEAD to Situational Leadership, Transformational Leadership, and Service Learning.

So this isn’t much, but I think all of these are excellent books to take some time to sit and address.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life, Grad School Love, Our World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

