Grad School Ideas

*My experience is solely connected to Higher Education and this post is about my experience*

I am a graduate students. People always talk about grad school being harder or easier. I want to talk a bit about that.

Don’t get me wrong, Grad school is not easy. At least it isn’t easier work than undergrad. On top of working anywhere from 20 to 50 hours a week depending on your program, you then have reading and writing galore plus interviews and group projects and thesis, capstone, or comps work. A short paper is 5-10 pages and a short week of reading is anything less than 150 pages.

However, the reason I say that grad school is easier, at least for me, is because it is continually engaging me in a topic which I am highly interested in. I get to learn history, ideas, theories, and stories that I can relate to and things I love to hear. I look forward to attending classes where I get to talk to peers who challenge and support me and we have discussions about the topic. We don’t just stop when we’ve covered the topic, we are expected to bring new ideas and connections. If we are interested in something, we are expected to go above and beyond and find more information. I was an English major in my undergraduate career and I have read more “just for fun” (looking up more info on topics we touch in class) than I have ever before in my life. ¬†Believe it or not, that is really saying something.

I think the real reason people say grad school is easier is because they find the work more exciting. That whole “Time flies when you’re having fun” idea.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Grad School Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

