These are some thoughts for my own sanity…

Sometimes you see things that really make your job look like an uphill battle…like this:

Fraternity Suspended for MLJK Party

As a professional who works with these orgs and who hopes to continue working with these orgs, there is an overwhelming amount of this and stories like these. They really add up and some days I wonder why fraternities and sororities still exist on college campuses.

I, myself a fraternity man, who had an amazing and uplifting experience filled with brothers who challenged me, pushed me, and supported me, sometimes wonders how we still survive. Does that not tell you something about the state of things? Even looking for “best fraternity stories” on google brings up tales of hazing and horror.

However, every time I get to that point, each time I hear a story that hurts or get depressed, I remember those people who have touched my life. I remember brothers, both undergrad and alumni who in one way or another mean the world to me. I know that I wouldn’t have had such an enriching experience without them.

And then I see moments like those I shared in my piece about “Time to Brag…” and I know that there is potential. There are 5 great Fraternities for each “Frat” out there. but those “Frats” do the terrible things that make Fraternities and Sororities look bad. It is time we take a stand and take back our culture from them.

Don’t let “frat” ruin Fraternity.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

