Why Ducks?

I am going to start this by stating that I am a proud brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc. When I say proud, I mean I wear the colors, badge, and ring every chance I get. If you read back on this blog some, I share every chance I get. I bleed Old Gold and Sapphire Blue.

If you are a member of an organization, particularly FSL, you have (I hope) the same passion and conviction. You love the symbols and colors of your organization as passionately now as you did when you first became involved. And I hope you always do.

I bring all of this up because of something special that sits on my desk. I have a rubber duck collection that includes everything from NC State and Texas Tech ducks to a Green Lantern Duck and a Dragon ducky to a little rubber ducky that Mindy Sopher gave me the day I was initiated as a brother. I put them everywhere.

One of our student assistants asked me the other day. He was new to the office and asked, “Why ducks?” Well my short answer was it was for my fraternity. Then he did something I did not expect. He asked again, “Yeah, but why ducks?” I explained the whole DU and how it is the unofficial mascot. Then I paused. I realized that these little ducks are everywhere. I have one in my bookbag, my office, my apartment…anywhere and everywhere. I make sure they are everywhere because they represent something important to me.

They aren’t just an “unofficial mascot” but so much more. They are memories of times with brothers that I will always cherish. They are fights between brothers that had to be reconciled. They are debates that were too heated to stand followed by a relaxing night of television with one another, laughing at some show. They are the hours of service we put in beside one another as we stood by our principles and motto. They are the education we took from those that came before and shared with those that came after. They are the friends I’ve made that are much more than friends, enough so that I call them brothers. They are a history 179 years in the making and continuing to grow. They are failures and successes all in one place. They are a love for my chapter and and fraternity and all that it has given me. They are my current membership as a lifetime brother.

They are a part of me, affecting me, changing me, and helping to have made me the man I am today.

  Why Ducks?

Because I am a proud brother of Delta Upsilon. Then. Now. Forever.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Ducks?

  1. Mindy says:

    Awesome! Keep that passion, Chris, and cherish those memories as you work hard to make more! I’ve got seven more ducks to present next Sunday to a great new group of young men who you too will be very proud of! I’m psyched for you as you prepare for the end of your school year and what your summer has to bring. . .
    Love and prayers are yours always!!
    Miss (so blessed to know you) Mindy

  2. Pingback: How do you learn best… | Rigsurfer's Blog

  3. Pingback: I Feel Stupid… | Rigsurfer's Blog

Leave a Reply

