There are no words…

Oh My Goodness…

If you haven’t seen it, there is a video going around on social media that demonstrates what I hope is one of the more absurd views from conservative America.

As I watched the above video, my first thought was “Wow, he said something that was racist enough to make conservatives cringe” and then I found this video…

And I found out that 1) This guy is from NC…I am thoroughly insulted and 2) It was not until a non conservative attempted to speak that there was actually a negative reaction. This leads me to wonder…

First, there is a lot of debate around the idea of “Reverse Racism” and I would like to offer some enlightenment for folks who believe in this idea:

It is important to note a few things. One, racism notes bigoted actions that place you at a disadvantage…not that place you at less advantage, yet still with more of an advantage than other groups in this country. Quite frankly, this means white men, you are not being discriminated against. That does not mean that someone cannot take bigoted action against you, but in general and on the whole, this cry of reverse racism is your inability to deal with a changing structure that fails to hand everything to you on a silver platter.

Let me add a caveat: This does not mean you are not the victim of bigoted action. You can face discrimination in other areas of your life such as class, religion (please don’t get me started on that one…no Christians, in the US, this has not and no time in the near future will include you), sexual orientation and more.

Another note is this idea of tolerance. I personally believe and share my belief in Tolerance as a means to move toward acceptance and celebration. In response, privileged individuals inevitably ask why I wont tolerate their intolerant views then. Quite frankly, I just stated it…I believe in tolerance and your lack of it means I am standing by my belief when I refuse to recognize your intolerance as acceptable. It has nothing to do with you not being tolerated. It has to do with you being a jerk. Get the hell over yourself.

At times looking at this world whether from a religious point of view which would suggest kindness to one another (whether it be Jesus on Love or the ideas of Karma) or just the natural human condition where we are not a dog eat dog society and seeing the interpretations of that used to perpetrate violence, cruelty, or justify abuse of anyone makes me sick.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Our World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

