Why Scooby Doo?

So a random fact about me, I am obsessed and adore Scooby-Doo. When I say obsessed, I do not simply mean I watch it whenever it comes on television. I do not merely mean that I have a handful of the movies. I mean that between my DVD and my digital collection, I have over 350 episodes/movies of Scooby-Doo including both animated and all four “real” life ones. I mean I have a small stuffed Scobert “Scooby” Doo sitting on my desk at work. I mean that I own a Scooby-Doo tie, beanie, and even a Scooby-Doo Snuggie. I am obsessed with Scooby-Doo. Ask about my freakout when I learned that Casey Kasem, the original voice of the most “swinginest gymnast in school” Norville “Shaggy” Rogers had died. I always have loved Shaggy. I am really glad that they did not decide to name the dog “Too Much” as was originally planned because let’s be honest, Scooby-Doo just sounds sooooo much cooler.

I love watching Scooby-Doo because I grew up on it. Being born in 1990, I grew up on a young cartoon network with weekend marathons that included everything, even a pup named scooby-doo and the 13 ghosts of Scooby-Doo. I remember watching these with my grandfather and having a ton of VHSs with recorded marathons on them. I even remember being heartbroken when they started to fail or crying when the VCR ate one.

Why do I bring all of this up? I was far from the first generation to fall in love with those meddling kids and their dog too. Launching its first series in September of 1969, there are still new episodes coming out today, albeit from a different title. That means that this September will be the 45th anniversary of the first Scooby-Doo episode. In honor of that, I wanted to offer what I have learned from watching these folks:

1) There is this one that you have probably seen by now
Scooby Doo Taught us That Real Monsters were Humans...If that isn't deep, I don't know what is.
The idea that all monsters are people. While there are a few notable exceptions where the monsters are actually otherworldly, note that the monsters themselves are still either humans or humans under some spell.

2) I have learned that great fun can be had driving around in a van with friends living off of inheritances from rich family members. Ok, this one might be a bit silly, but there really is a good message here. People are important. This group of friends support one another through all kinds of crazy, difficult, and annoying things. They are the epitome of best friends and even when things aren’t looking up, you still have your friends.
scooby doo villans

3) I have learned that splitting up is always bad…for the “cowards” of the group. Whenever the group splits, Fred and Daphne, often with Velma, go one direction and find a clue while Shaggy and Scooby head for the kitchen and inevitably find the monster (see, food is bad for you).

4) Next, plans don’t always work. Fred (sometimes another character) has a brilliant idea that usually comes in either a Rube Goldberg Machine or even true brilliance at times. And of course things fall apart. Either Scooby and Shaggy trip the trap or Daphne gets caught on a crane or some other massive chaos.

5) That leads to this: Even when things look their worst, keep your head up and keep working. Scooby and Shaggy almost always do something crazy after the trap fails and save the day. Things look terrible and the monster appears to be getting away, but then scooby trips on a banana peel and slams the monster into a washing machine. It is crazy!

6) Share your time. From my grandfather sharing with me to watching these random films and episodes with everyone I know, I love it. I love sitting back and enjoying Scooby-Doo with friends and family. It makes me laugh and smile and they seem to enjoy it as well.
Scooby Gang

Scooby-Doo is great. Relax and love it and enjoy it. Or do the same with the show that you love!

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

