Dream No Little Dream

“Dream No Little Dream” -Kent Hance

This is a line that I hear quite often. Shocker as to why seeing as that man is the outgoing chancellor of this university system. So I am going to do exactly that. I am going to dream my big dream and share with anyone considering joining a fraternity this fall or ever why they shouldn’t join… (This post is actually the inspiration for this piece)

If you are joining for the parties, fraternity life is not for you. Don’t. Just don’t. I am in the business of building a community. I am in the business of building a national networks of leaders who want to change the world. I am not here to babysit you and wait for you to decide that there is more to life than partying.

If you aren’t interested in improving yourself, fraternity life is not for you.I am not trying to tell you fraternity life will change you. But it should help you grow and develop as a person. The university and your inter/national organizations hope that you gain something from your time. They don’t want to change who you are, you were already good enough to be a brother if they offered you a bid. They do however, want you to always strive to become more.

If you are only interested while in college, fraternity life is not for you.I tell my students all the time that fraternity is for life. If you agree to become a brother, that is a commitment that is long standing. Whether you are a current undergraduate brother or an alumni brother, you are and will always be a brother of that organization. Keep that in mind and act like it.

If you don’t want to act professional, fraternity life is not for you.I am continually having conversations with my students about the importance of professionalism. We go on and on about how important timeliness, appearance, and behavior factor in. These guys all figure it out. Some figure it out earlier on and some only when it is too late. I would prefer everyone to get that point early on and be able to fully benefit from the investment of fraternity.

If you don’t want to respect women, fraternity life is not for you.When I say respect women, I don’t mean you hold the doors open. I mean that they feel safe coming to your social events. They are comfortable hanging out with you and your brothers. I think it is up to fraternities to set the example here and if you cannot create a culture that feminist feel comfortable in, you should try again.

If you cannot represent the absolute best of fraternity, fraternity life is not for you.If you come into fraternity life planning on being anything other than the best (service oriented, professionally prepared, respectful of all individuals, upstanding and seen as a role model) then please respect myself, my letters, and my work. Respect every single man who has and continues to put in the effort to make fraternity life great. Respect the chapters founders.

Don’t waste ours or your time.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

