Where I Stand Today (Grad School Edition, Part…no idea)

So I have not been the most active on my blog as of late…It has been a long few weeks.

I spent the summer running recruitment for IFC. This means I was coordinating the registration of 800 men attempting to go see 21 fraternities on top of everything else going on. At the same time I was working on an internship, finishing a summer class, preparing for fall classes, helping train a new staff member to advise IFC, and writing a chapter of my thesis. It has been a blast.

But lessons have been learned along the way have been hard fought, some from battles lost and others well earned.

First, I just started year two of grad work. It has been fun to just dive right back in. I have found it particularly exciting because one of our classes lines up particularly well with my thesis (In fact two of our first readings are also referenced in my Lit Review). Of course I have heard mixed reviews from my classmates. To be fair, the reading is rather heavy and difficult. But hey, it is grad school and we did sign up for this whole thinking thing, so let’s do it right.

Second, to all of my friends currently searching for a grad program, I would like to suggest reading up on some theories of Student Development before going to your interviews this year. I had a friend mention that she visited a school and they asked her which theory she most identified with. See, this is something you will learn and study once you enter your grad program, but that doesn’t mean you can’t learn some of it now. It is beneficial, believe it or not…plus you probably already use it.

Third, the Thesis. The beast. The writing project to end all writing projects. Ok, that is incredibly over dramatic, but coming from someone who has an undergrad degree in English and has written his fair share of both graduate and undergrad papers, the thesis is it’s own challenge. I love it. I get to read about stuff I love and write about it and explain why it is important to me and why it matters. I also hate it because of the topic I chose. To say the research is depressing only begins to scratch the surface.

Well, that is a short summary…

 

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

