Dear Fraternities (and Sororities)…

No one should EVER be afraid of reporting us for failing to meet our own standards. See, this happens to include some keep points such as hazing, drinking, drugs, and sexual assault. It is a problem that people actually fear reporting this for the sake of the repercussions. As soon as a member of my organization fears reporting for the sake of what may happen to them, I am no longer a Greek organization. I have lost every right to claim my heritage. At that point, I am not only, in many rights, a criminal, but I am a bad person who needs to recognize that I have made a mistake. It is time for me to address my actions, not someone else’s issues with my actions.

See, if I am in fact a reasonable member of the Fraternity and Sorority World, I will take responsibility for my actions. I will either be able to logically explain why my actions were not such or I will accept the consequences. I will not threaten someone else for having dared to get me in trouble. If they can in fact get my in trouble than I deserved it.

Now let me challenge you to go a step further. Individuals are upset with Clemson’s recent actions of banning fraternities. See, there is a part of this that many people just overlook. The fact is that 12 of the 24 fraternities were doing things wrong. Tell me something, how can you as a member of a Greek Lettered Organization sleep at night when you know that there are so many poor portrayals of your heritage? The other 12 were just as responsible for letting the others get away.

See, I was Greek. I know how hard it is to step in. I have done it myself, stepping up and saying something when it is a problem. I have been the individual who has had to have someone step in.

If you don’t want these things to happen, then be the change.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

