I Wish…

Ok, hi.

So for today, I would like to discuss North Carolina.

See, NC is a state that has struggled in recent years. It has struggled with its public image for a number of reasons, most of which relate to a governor who has proven more than once to be a bit of a buffoon. To clarify, this has nothing to do with his political affiliation. It is coincidental that the majority of his buffoonary has come from his own party in recent years. This is not to say that the other major party is not to blame and does not have their own mistakes.

But this is about more. This is about NC which is hurting over some stupidity. See, NC Is my home. Well, not currently as I live in Arizona. Not even recently as I have not set foot in the Tar Heel state since the end of 2013. So it has been two and a half years since I have even seen those great beaches, mountains, or even those lovely cities that make up NC.

I have always struggled with discussing where is home for me. People always ask and I give some confused answer of “well, I was born in Florida, grew up in NC, lived in Texas, and now reside in Arizona.” Of course, what I have come to realize is that North Carolina, That state which was First in Flight (Sorry Ohio), has had such a massive impact on me and who I am. All of my public schooling, right through my bachelors degree came from NC. See, North Carolina spent years building its education. And that building has led NC to be a hub for research, banking, and life in general.

Of course that all seems to be changing. That great UNC System was hurt by some rather dirty moments which led to the ousting of Tom Ross and the hiring of Margaret Spellings. She managed to insult the institutions prior to even coming into office.

Well, recently that Governor buffoon of NC signed HB2. Allow me to explain what HB2 is and how it came about. In response to Charlotte, the largest city in NC, creating legislation to protect  LGBT rights, the General Assembly (the legislative branch of NC Politics) came together. This incredibly republican heavy group came together in a special session to debate and vote on the bill. This all important bill they immediately needed to discuss? Removing the ability of municipalities to grant LGBT groups rights. Because that deserves special recognition, right? It deserves to cost the tax payers dollars for this special session.

Well, let’s take it further. Governor Mcrory continues to repeat his mantra of this being a bipartisan bill, supported on both sides. While that argument carries a small amount of weight in the house, let’s remember what happened in the state senate. When the bill was called for a vote, the democrats present left the room in protest. Because yeah, Mcrory, that sounds like support.

So what has come out of this bill? Well, it is absurd. Look up statistics on why you need to define where someone can go to a bathroom based on sex rather than gender. supposedly it is sexual assault fears, which have no grounding in statistics, only in prejudices. Of course I have had a friend point out that they would have no issue if there were just separate bathrooms for LGBT individuals. Does this remind you of something? I mean Plessy V Ferguson was over 120 years ago. That was when we were told “Separate but equal” was fair. I don’t know about you, but I feel that concept has been proven rather absurd.

So how about that great financial and business thing that has been NC? Well since HB2 was signed in such as way, Paypal pulled out of creating its base in Charlotte. The was 200 jobs that would have poured millions into the state economy gone. More than that, 13 conventions have pulled out of NC due to this bill. Still seeming like a great venture?

So how about that great public education system? How did Margaret Spellings, this great replacement for Tom Ross, how did she react? Well after lots of prodding and realizing how unpopular it was, she finally came out stating that it gave the impression that NC Was unwelcoming to all people. She got that one right.

So why rant and rave about all of this? Simply because I am tired. I have written and rewritten this piece over a dozen times since HB2 was signed. And here is the thing. I am tired. I am embarrassed. I am annoyed.

I just wish I could say I was shocked.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Our World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

