The Question I Ask…

Ok, So I write on a blog. I spend a lot of time writing on here about a variety of things. My last post may have suggested to you what two of those particular topics are.

And I am here on this blog for a very particular reason. The second of those topics was social justice. See, my thesis addressed racist attitudes among leadership in White Fraternities. As such, I do spend a great deal of time analyzing and often writing about my views on race relations in the US, particularly as it affects and relates to higher education.

But here is what you must understand:

I AM NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR GOING TO THE SOURCE!

See, I can write all day long about how racism exists, how women do not receive equal rights, and the immeasurable amount of oppression and just plain disrespect received by numerous communities ranging from the GLBT Community to individuals with disabilities. You can even come in read it. I am a bit selfish and happen to enjoy when people take the time to peruse and review different posts on my blog. Of course this strange feeling often leads me to asking why exactly I am writing. Is it to bring awareness or for my own ego.

And then comes the big question. As a White heterosexual cis-gendered educated able-bodied male, doesn’t it become oppression in itself if I assume myself an authority on living in the US any other way? I have never lived a day as a Black person, as a woman, gay, transgendered. I do not have to face the same challenges as these individuals. I have walked on crutches and had issues with stairs, but I don’t face those same challenges in every day of my life as it affects others.

So where exactly do I get off on writing about these things?

See, here is what I have to say. If you are on my blog as a starting point. If this is the first time you have critically considered these subjects. If you are looking for one more voice and perhaps a different angle, I am honored to be a part of your reading selection.

If, however, I am your only source on any of these subjects. If I am the only voice you listen to arguing for the existence of these subjects. If you only read the majority voice (i.e. if you are learning about racism and only read posts by White people).  If any of that is you, please stop. There are far more important voices and people to listen to. I have even offered a few of those voices in regards to race. If there are other subjects you want to read more on, let me know and I will find resources for you!

What matters here is educating yourself entirely. Don’t read one side. Some don’t like to think so when reading my blog, but when it comes to race, I have read the stories from men such as Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Thurgood Marshall, and Ta-Nehisi Coates, yet I have also listened to the stories of men such as Dr. Ben Carson and Justice Clarence Thomas. I have my own views on these perspectives which may be rather apparent after a quick read of my blog, but that is my challenge for you, dear reader. Don’t talk and argue before you have done your research.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Our World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

