What I should have said…

So if you read my last post, you may have felt the animosity pouring off of me. While the feelings still remain, I just read Vice President Joe Biden’s response and was reminded of how eloquently words could be used. For that reason, I will not be commenting about the Rapist, the heroes, the judge, victim, nor anyone else that was previously mentioned. Between the Victim’s Letter, this Father’s Letter, and VP Biden’s Letter, there is little more to be said.

No, I would like to get back to my roots.

Whatever could I mean, you may be asking. I am referring to the fact that this situation rose out of a fraternity party. This is disappointing. I have said it in other places, but We Are Failing!

And let me add, if you are the one stating how it wasn’t their fault, how they couldn’t have known, it wasn’t their responsibility, or anything like that, you are missing the point of fraternity. See, I am a firm believer that with the ability of hosting an event such as a Fraternity Party comes the responsibility as well. You do not merely get to have guests visit and then not care what happens to them. That is not Fraternity. That is embarrassing. You do not get to throw an event where anything could happen to make women feel less safe and blow it off as not your responsibility. That is not Fraternity.

I will guarantee that each and every one of your founders would find you to be an embarrassment to their legacy if you feel that way. And here is the thing, in case you forgot, your “legacy” affects theirs. And you would not have the chance to establish a legacy if not for them

So please, no more failing. No more pushing the blame on someone else. No more embarrassing myself and every other fraternity man out there by pretending.

Either step up and become a Fraternity Man or get out.

About rigsurfer

A Brother of Delta Upsilon International Fraternity, Inc., Joined in Fall 2010. Completed a B.A. in English at North Carolina State University in 2013 and received a M.Ed. in Higher Education Administration at Texas Tech University in 2015. Passionate about Leadership and Diversity as well as Ducks, Scooby Doo, and reading.
This entry was posted in Fraternity and Sorority Life, Our World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

